top of page

Emily Davidson


Name: Emily Ann Davidson

Age: 20

Born: 1996, Texas

Emily was the #1 most popular male baby name in 1996, making up 1.3122% of female babies born in the US.

According to Social Security databases, 1,772 Emilys were born in Texas in 1996.

Do you like your name?

"Yeah. I think it’s feminine and I like writing it, you have the kind of curly stuff. It’s classic."

Have you had any experiences in which the popularity of your name has either bothered or helped you?

"If there were like a bunch of Emilys in one class… I don’t like when someone says Emily and I don’t know who it is. It’s nice not having to spell it for anyone. They know what I’m saying."

Do you agree that society feels a "need for uniqueness"? Have you ever felt this?

"I've usually found myself trying to pick and do things that other people don’t do."

Collective identity, or "sameness", has been shown to be felt as strongly and be equally as powerful as uniqueness. Do you agree that sameness can be powerful? Have you ever felt it as such?

"Yeah, definitely. I think being part of something bigger is very empowering. I think that uniqueness and sameness can go together by a bunch of unique people functioning in all different ways for one goal. I'm Christian; it's like how the Bible talks about the body of Christ. Like the foot is not functioning as the head, but all together it creates the body that functions."

Which do you think is more important, uniqueness or sameness?

"To make the world go round, sameness helps keep the peace more, but we couldn’t get anything done if we were all the same."


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page